

Whitehill F.P. Club Newsletter.

April 2013

The Former Pupils club held it's 85th annual reunion at The Menzies Hotel in Glasgow on Friday 8th March, 2013. The evening was judged a great success, enjoyed by over 60 former pupils, staff, and a table of current students, who informed and entertained with stories of their school experiences and aspirations for their future in further education or employment. We were all impressed by their commitment, enthusiasm and humour. It is good to see that the school still produces such stars.

Kenny Logan, an FP, spoke about his involvement as one of the bearers of the Olympic Torch when it passed through Edinburgh. We all now know why the torch has 8,000 holes, is 3 sided and even it's dimensions and weight. Ken gave an excellent talk, encouraging and interesting for all.

Dorothy Paul was presented with the cup and quaich, as our distinguished recipient of the "Lifetime Achievement Award". Dorothy entertained us with an impromptu speech covering her school years, growing up in Dennistoun, and her career on stage and T.V. She had encouraging words for the current students, several of whom had mentioned an interest in the stage.

At the close of the evening, the the current President Richard Bell, handed over the chain of office to the new President for 2013/2014, the Rev. John Munro. John gave a short speech on his proposals for his year in office, to move forward with vigour and the need to attract new membership.



President Rev. John Munro



Past President Richard Bell and Current Students with Louise Connor, Head Teacher.

Forthcoming Events.

The club lunch will be held in November and the 86th annual dinner will be in March 2014.

Note:

We would welcome any input from members of the club, to include in future newsletters, for example, information on the whereabouts of former pupils, particularly those now overseas, a what career did you follow section, items of news concerning FP's and so on.

Committee

President:

John Munro

23 Braid Farm Road, Edinburgh EH10 6LE. e.mail: revjohnmunro@hotmail.com

Vice President:

James Aitken,

3 Beulah, Musselburgh, East Lothian. e.mail: jamesaitken@3beulah.freeserve.co.uk

Past President:

Richard Bell,

57, Millersneuk Drive, Lenzie, G66 5JE. e.mail: richardbell121@hotmail.com

Secretary:

Miss Myra Hunter,

20 Almond Street, Riddrie, Glasgow G33 2AT. Tel: 0141 770 5106

Committee Members:

Joe Clarke,

Riverside Road, Newlands, Glasgow G43 2EG. e.mail: joe@esru.strath.ac.uk

Iain Callander,

6a Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN. Email: iacpac@hotmail.com

Gordon Caskie, Dunfermin, Muasdale, Tarbet. PA29 6XD. email: gscaskie@hotmail.com